Phone +65 6880 2828


Board of Directors

Executive Chairman and Non-Independent Director

Mr Ma Weidong was appointed the Executive Chairman of the Group on 9 July 2015. Mr Ma is also the Company’s single largest shareholder of approximately 41% shareholdings in the Company’s shares.

Mr Ma is an experienced company director in the People’s Republic of China (“PRC”) having served as the Board Director and Chairman of several PRC companies. Currently, he is the Chairman of Kunming Luchen Group Co. Ltd and Kunming Tianlongrun Sugar, Tobacco and Wine Co., Ltd.

Mr Ma began his entrepeneurial career in 1998, and is currently the Executive Vice President of the Kunming Entrepreneurs Association in the PRC, as well as being recognised as the Kunming Outstanding Entrepreneur. He has led the takeover, and restructuring of several companies in China, with a clear emphasis on his principles and values of integrity, trust and social responsibility. With his strong and creative business acumen, he has expanded the scale and diversity of his businesses, including the logistics, food manufacturing, financial and real estate sectors

With foresight, great business acumen and resourcefulness, Mr Ma employs his sharp analytical skills in highly challenging economic situations to seek out and develop business opportunities.Under his strong leadership, both local and international enterprises are able to accurately ride on trends and make timely strategic adaptations to the ever-changing economic landscape. His acute business sense guides enterprises to build a strong foundation, grow exponentially and fully reach their potential.

He has completed a course in Excellence and Innovation Management for CEO at the Tsinghua University in Beijing in 2012, and was part of a China delegation, alongside President Xi Jinping, at the 2013 APEC Summit in Bali, Indonesia.

Chief Executive Officer and Non-Independent Director

Mr Lim Huan Chiang joined as the Chief Executive Officer and Non-Independent Director on 26 Oct 2015. Prior to joining Xpress, he was with the Singapore Press Holdings for more than two decades and last held the position of Vice-President of the Chinese Media Group. Resultantly, he has not only developed expertise in the publication and printing industry, but also established a wide range of social contact and rapport with local SMEs, as well as overseas entrepreneurs particularly within the China Circle.

Mr Lim has a plethora of organization and management experiences, acquired from both his full-time profession and community involvement. He was once the Commander of Rescue Battalion and Commandant of Volunteer Unit when serving in the Singapore Civil Defence Force as a senior officer. During his tenure, his most significant achievements were to launch the Blood Grouping Test for the entire population, and also introduce various public education initiatives on emergency preparedness for schools and community groups and at workplaces.

In the area of social involvement, he currently holds appointments in a number of government boards and associations such as the National Community Leadership Institute Board, MDA Film Appeal Panel, Chinese Publishers Association, Singapore Government Staff Credit Co-operative and Business China. He has also been holding the posts of Chairman of Radin Mas Citizens’ Consultative Committee and President of the Chinese Press Club for years.

Mr Lim has been appointed as a Justice of the Peace by the President of Singapore since 2005. Due to his outstanding contributions to the community, he was conferred a number of national awards including the Public Service Star (Bar) in 2012

Mr Lim holds a degree in Fire Engineering (UK) and has also obtained various professional qualifications in fields such as Business Management, Public Relations, Publishing Works and China Law.

Lead Independent and Non-Executive Director

Mr Sam Chong Keen was first appointed Independent Non-Executive Director on 5 December 2001. Since then, he has served the Group as Chief Executive Officer from 2006 to 2008 and as Non-Executive Chairman from 2014 to 2015. Mr Sam was appointed the Lead Independent Director on 9 July 2015.

Mr Sam has a wealth of management experience, having held senior/CEO positions in the Singapore Government Administrative Service, National Trades Union Congress, Intraco Ltd, Comfort Group Ltd, VICOM Ltd, Lion Asiapac Ltd, Lion Teck Chiang Ltd, Jade Technologies Holdings Ltd and Sino-Environment Technology Group Limited.

Mr Sam was the Political Secretary to the Minister for Education from 1988 to 1991. He has served on various government boards and committees, including the Central Provident Fund Board and the National Cooperative Federation.

Mr Sam holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Engineering Science & Economics and a Master of Arts from University of Oxford, as well as a Diploma from the Institute of Marketing, United Kingdom.

Non-Executive Director

Mr Darlington Tseng has been serving as Non- Independent and Non-Executive Director since July 4, 2014.Previously, he served as its Executive Director from March 1,2008 to June 1, 2014. He joined the Company on 2 July 2007 as Director of Business Development for Greater China.

Before joining A-Smart, Mr Tseng held a senior executive position at BASF Taiwan Ltd, from 2005 to 2007. He gained extensive knowledge of the region’s business climate during his tenure with BASF’s regional business unit, where he collected vast market analyses and formulated strong marketing strategies. Between 1998 and 2002, Mr. Tseng worked in the chemical industry for AGI Corporation based in Taiwan where he was responsible for the company’s overseas markets and successfully set up the company’s Mexico manufacturing plant producing specialty varnish for the printing/ coating industry.

Mr Tseng graduated from Peking University, with a Masters of Business Administration.

Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Chu Hongtao was appointed Independent Non- Executive Director on 9 July 2015. She chairs the Audit Committee, the Nominating and the Remuneration Committees.

Ms Chu has more than 20 years of accounting, investment and financial management experience – having previously served as the Financial Controller of Yunnan Province Kunming Bao Shan Hotel and currently the Chief Financial Officer of Yunnan De Yi Hao Equity Management Co., Ltd.

Ms Chu possesses strong knowledge in finance, taxation and investment management and she is also well-versed in financial laws. She graduated from Dongbei University with a degree in Accountancy, and subsequently obtained an MBA from the Business and Tourism School of the Yunnan University in 2013.

Non-Executive Director

Mr Kenneth Loo was appointed Non- Executive Director on 2 August 2017. Mr Loo has more than 26 years of experience in the property development and construction industry. He was appointed as the Director of Straits Construction Group Pte Ltd (SC Group) in 2008 and subsequently, as Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer of SC Group in September 2014.

Mr Loo sits as Member of the Building and Construction Authority Board and is the Immediate Past President of the Singapore Contractors Association Ltd. He is a council member of National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC), a member of the Singapore Business Federation (SBF), Small and Medium Enterprises Committee (SMEC) and Infrastructure Committee (IC). He is also a member of the Future Economy Council (FEC).

Mr Loo graduated with a Bachelor of Engineering (Civil) from the University of New South Wales in 1990 and has an MBA in Technology Management from Deakin University Australia/APESMA.


Privacy Policy / Copyright @ 2020 by A-Smart Holdings Ltd (CRN: 199902058Z)